The National Center for Family Philanthropy announced the election of three new members to its Board of Directors: Julie Fisher Cummings, Managing Trustee, Max M. and Marjorie S. Fisher Foundation; Adrianne B. Furniss, Vice Chair and Trustee, The Benton Foundation; and Kimberly Myers Hewlett, Treasurer, Myers Family Foundation and Board Member, Flora Family Foundation.

In addition, Kathleen Odne, Executive Director of the Dean & Margaret Lesher Foundation, was elected vice chair of the National Center’s Board, succeeding William C. Graustein, Trustee of the William Caspar Graustein Memorial Fund. Odne joins returning board officers: Chair Caroline Avery, President of The Durfee Foundation; Treasurer Linda Perryman Evans, President and CEO, The Meadows Foundation; and Secretary Bruce Maza, Executive Director, C.E. & S. Foundation.

“The National Center is honored to welcome Julie Fisher Cummings, Adrianne Furniss, and Kimberly Myers Hewlett as new board members. Each one provides diverse perspectives and experiences from their work in family philanthropy that will enhance our efforts to serve the field. We are so pleased these exceptional leaders will offer their guidance and leadership,” says Virginia Esposito, president of the National Center.

The new members bring deep and wide-ranging philanthropic experience to the National Center’s board:

  • Julie Fisher Cummings is managing trustee and vice chair-elect of the Max M. and Marjorie S. Fisher Foundation, a family foundation based in Detroit, Michigan. She is also co-founder and chairman of the Lovelight Foundation. She has served on the boards of a wide range of nonprofits and national and community organizations, including as a current presidential appointee of the Corporation for National and Community Service and past chair of the Council of Michigan Foundations.
  • Adrianne B. Furniss is vice chair and trustee at the Benton Foundation in Washington DC, whose mission is to ensure that media and telecommunications serve the public interest and enhance our democracy. Furniss has spent her professional career in the media business, specializing in distribution and marketing strategies, management, strategic planning, and acquisitions.
  • Kimberly Myers Hewlett is treasurer of the Myers Family Foundation and board member of the Flora Family Foundation. She is a steering committee member for the Black Women Donor Action group, housed at the Women’s Funding Network, and previously worked for Rockefeller Philanthropy Advisors.

About the National Center for Family Philanthropy

The mission of the National Center for Family Philanthropy is to promote philanthropic values, vision, and excellence across generations of donors and donor families. For additional information about the National Center’s programs and services, please visit our website at